Pasadena Ignition Interlock Device Lawyers
Speak to Our DUI Defense Lawyer
If you have been ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle after a DUI conviction, our team of Pasadena DUI attorneys at Hutton & Khalaf can help. We have decades of experience in DUI defense throughout Southern California. If you fear that you may have to install an ignition interlock device, if you have been arrested for violating a court order related to an ignition interlock device, or if you simply have questions about ignition interlock devices in California, we have answers.
Since July 1, 2010, drivers convicted of operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Los Angeles County are required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. The ignition interlock device serves as a mini Breathalyzer to prevent individuals convicted of drunk driving from starting their car unless an alcohol-free breath sample is provided. Installing the device is expensive and is an additional cost you must incur if you are convicted. If you have been arrested but not convicted of DUI, there is still time to fight the charges against you. We can use our extensive experience to challenge the charges against you and work to help you avoid the most brutal penalties and expenses that come with a DUI conviction.
If you are facing these charges in Los Angeles, the most important investment you can make is to consult an experienced defense attorney. Our experience and legal skills have helped us emerge as one of the Los Angeles region's premier DUI defense teams.
Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device for DUI Conviction
Los Angeles County has taken a tough stance against anyone convicted of drunk driving. Whether you are charged as a first-time offender or for multiple DUI offenses, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. If you contact us soon as you face legal trouble, we will answer all of your questions and prepare you for all the possibilities that may come your way. If you contact us immediately and before conviction, we can help you avoid this penalty.
We can discuss what you should expect, such as:
- 1st conviction: You will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car(s) for five months. First-time offenders will not be restricted from where they can drive.
- 2nd conviction: Second-time offenders risk having their driver’s license suspended for one year. If this happens, you will need to pay a re-issue fee 90 days after you are convicted to obtain a restricted driver's license. The ignition interlock device will need to be installed before the restricted driver's license is issued. After a year, the ignition interlock device can be removed.
- 3rd conviction: Individuals convicted of a third or felony DUI offense will be required to install the ignition interlock device for two years. Your driver's license would be revoked for three years if you refuse to install the ignition interlock device on your car.
If you are convicted of drunk driving, you will be required to install the ignition interlock device on any vehicles registered under your name. The cost of installing the device is often more than just an inconvenience. Drivers are responsible to cover the installation fee of about $75 and about $50 every month to monitor the ignition interlock device. Driving a vehicle not equipped with the device when it is required may add to your penalties.
The only way to avoid installing an ignition interlock device on your car is to not get convicted of drunk driving. At Hutton & Khalaf, our experience in DUI defense has become invaluable to individuals facing harsh DUI penalties. Our firm, located in Pasadena, will conduct a thorough investigation into the criminal allegations against you. We will fight for the sentence to be dismissed based on any procedural errors or violations of your constitutional rights.
Contact our firm at (626) 397-9700 to begin.